Home  /  About us  /  Board of Trustees
Our trustees
Home  /  About us  /  Board of Trustees
Our trustees

Ann Netten (Chair)

Ann, who is now retired, was the Director of the Personal Social Services Research Unit (PSSRU) at the University of Kent and the Department of Health-funded policy research unit in Quality and Outcomes of person-centred care (QORU) until 2013.

She was also a founder member of the NIHR School for Social Care Research (SSCR), Professor of Social Welfare at the University of Kent, and is still a member of the Academy of Social Sciences.

She led the programme of work that developed the Adult Social Care Outcomes Toolkit (ASCOT) and developed the early series of volumes of Unit Costs of Health and Social Care. Her research interests include the measurement of outcome, costs and quality in social care, housing and care of older people, and economic evaluation of social welfare interventions, including criminal justice.

Bruce Moore

Bruce joined Housing 21 as Chief Executive in 2013 with a track record of successfully managing change and addressing challenges in order to improve the provision of housing and care services for older people. He had previously held senior positions in Hanover, Anchor and Wolverhampton Homes. His early career was as an in-house lawyer and he is a qualified solicitor.

Bruce has served as a Board Member for a number of housing associations and charities including twice serving as an appointee on behalf of the regulator. He completed a PhD looking at attitudes and expectations of the governance role of housing associations boards in 2017, and a further PhD on the preferences and priorities of residents of Retirement Housing and Extra Care in 2021.

Bruce joined the board of EAC in 2020 to help steer the charity through a number of serious challenges, exacerbated by the onset of the Covid pandemic.

Gemma Penn

Our President


The Countess of Mar

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Etiam lobortis eget libero sit amet congue. Aliquam imperdiet tellus non condimentum mollis. Donec tincidunt vulputate libero blandit euismod. Donec vitae enim ligula. Pellentesque efficitur tellus vel congue tincidunt. In hac habitasse platea dictumst.

Former long-serving Trustees


Chris Manthorp
Trustee 2007 - 2021
Mervyn Kohler
Trustee 1996 – 2020
Chair 2007 - 2020
Michael McCarthy
Trustee 1996 – 2007
Chair 2003 - 2007
Noel Shuttleworth
Trustee 1985 – 2007
Chair 1985 – 2003
Steve Ongeri
Trustee 2007 - 2020